Providing resources on family & marriage, culture & work, church & ministry, government & law

“…That They May be One”—The Unity Factor

Grand Rapids (February 1, 2012) — Christian's Library Press announced today the release of The Unity Factor: One Lord, One Church, One Mission by John H. Armstrong.

The Unity Factor is rooted in the prayer of Jesus in John 17:20–23, that all of Christ’s disciples may be one. But how can we ever live out Christ’s plan for us to be one in faith and mission when we are so deeply divided by social, cultural, racial, and doctrinal fault lines? Does it really matter whether or not we strengthen our bonds of mutual love and respect? What real difference does it make if we find ways to stand together and heal our tragic, Christian divisions?

Today a new generation of Christian leaders is asking: “What can we do to express our oneness before God and the world?” The Unity Factor seeks to answer this question by challenging our easy acceptance of divisions while helping us envision how our future can be better than our recent past. John Armstrong invites this new generation to reexamine the common ground upon which all Christians stand—one Lord, one Church, and one mission—calling all Christians, whatever their denomination, to put the mission of the Church ahead of the mission of their church, striving for a more visible unity rooted in relational love.

From the foreword by Timothy George:

“Great things in the kingdom of God often arise from small beginnings—an insignificant mustard seed yields a mighty crop, some kid's leftover lunch feeds a hungry crowd, a small candle on a stand floods the whole room with light. Thus began the quest for Christian unity in modern times. A poor journeyman shoemaker, William Carey by name, traveled to India to share the Good News of Jesus Christ with those who had never heard it. Carey was a Baptist, but he soon realized that he needed the encouragement and support of other Jesus-followers (Christians) in order to fulfill his mission.

“This book by John Armstrong stands in the tradition of William Carey, Edinburgh 1910, and the Lausanne Conference at Cape Town 2010. It is a gospel-focused and Scripture-based summons for all believers who stand in the great tradition of Christian faith and life to love one another so that the world might see and know that Jesus Christ is Lord. It is a call for Christian believers of all denominations to demonstrate their love for one another by following Jesus together.”

About the Author: 

John H. Armstrong is founder and president of ACT 3, a ministry for equipping leaders for unity in Christ's mission. He is former pastor and church-planter of more than twenty years, an adjunct professor of evangelism and leadership at Wheaton College, and the author/editor of more than a dozen books.

About Christian's Library Press:

Founded in 1979 by Gerard Berghoef and Lester DeKoster, Christian’s Library Press has been committed to publishing influential texts on church leadership, the vocation of work, and stewardship for more than thirty years. During that time Berghoef and DeKoster wrote significant works including The Deacons Handbook, The Elders Handbook, and God’s Yardstick, which still are in demand today. After the passing of Lester DeKoster in 2009, the imprint is now administered by the Acton Institute for the Study of Religion & Liberty. For more information about Christian’s Library Press, visit www.clpress.com.

With its commitment to pursue a society that is free and virtuous, the Acton Institute for the Study of Religion & Liberty is a leading voice in the international environmental and social policy debate. With offices in Grand Rapids, Michigan and Rome, Italy, as well as affiliates in four other nations around the world, the Acton Institute is uniquely positioned to comment on the sound economic and moral foundations necessary to sustain humane environmental and social policies. The Acton Institute is a nonprofit, ecumenical think tank working internationally to “promote a free and virtuous society characterized by individual liberty and sustained by religious principles.” For more on the Acton Institute, please visit www.acton.org.

The Unity Factor: One Lord, One Church, One Mission
John H. Armstrong
Publisher: Christian's Library Press
Paperback: 52 pages
ISBN-13: 978-188059590-9
Product Dimensions: 8 x 5 x 0.3 inches
Price:  $7.95

The Unity Factor is available at www.CLPRESS.com, www.Amazon.com, and at local bookstores and online booksellers.

To receive a review copy (for media), or a exam copy (for professors)please contact BT@BobToddPublicity.com